Tags

, , , , ,

I made it home yesterday from youth camp with all my toiletries and 2 nice sized blisters on my hands. It was a lot of fun getting to be with my girlies and love on them before school starts back. Which is next week. Help me Jesus! I am so not ready for that.

We went up to Linden Valley to help them clean up the grounds a little. The guys cut wood and pressure washed and my group of girls moved a giant pile of playground rocks. We had *some* help from the guys 🙂 I am so proud of our kids though. They really worked their little tails off. And for some of them, that meant a really uncomfortable ride home!

Like all good summer camp experiences go, there were quite a few pranks that materialized during the week. I instigated some of them, but pretty sure I had the raw end of the deal when I woke up to a frog on my face. I am very anti any thing slimy so this really sent me over the edge! I have learned in my few years with youth kids, that if you over react – yeah..you get it much worse the next time! I played it cool with the frog (even though I was so very NOT COOL on the inside) and I didn’t have a problem with it again for the rest of the trip. 🙂 It can always be worse!

I came home to a house that was still standing and with very minimal damage on the inside. The kids were still alive and had been fed and bathed. The pile of laundry is insane though. I think I will go snap a picture real quickie like.

Remember me saying I had a kitchen couch? Yeah well, this is the reason I put it there. The laundry room is right off the kitchen, so for piles like this..I need a place to sit and fold. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it.

John did great with the kids while I was gone. Now that I know he is more than capable of taking care of all 5 kids by himself for 4 days..hmm…looks like an all-inclusive island is calling my name!

I am very glad to be home and getting back in the swing of things. This weekend is going to be super busy. John left this morning to go to Duck Town to set up for our church wide mission trip down there tomorrow. Y’all, I’ve heard some strange sounding town names in my life, but pretty sure Duck Town is now in the top 5. Anyway, he will come back tonight and we will load up and head back down there tomorrow for an all day mission trip. Normal church on Sunday and Sunday night, then he is leaving for Michigan Sunday night to take some dear friends back home for their mother’s funeral. He is preaching the funeral and will probably be doing the bulk of the driving so if you would pray for them, I know they would appreciate it. He should be back late Tuesday night or early early Wednesday morning. Brooks starts school Thursday, so I am going to be working like a mad woman to get all his stuff ready to go.

The buzzer on the dryer just went off and I can hear Bridge hollering from his crib upstairs, so my quiet time this morning is sadly over. Off to finish the mountain of laundry and clean out the van. If I find Jimmy Hoffa under the back seat – you better believe I’m going to that all-inclusive place with the reward money. Just sayin…

