Tags

, , , , , ,

It is 5am and I am sitting on the couch with Finley and John Bridge, who decided to both wake up stupid early and we are watching…you guessed it…Tangled. I love that Fin is into princess movies and all things girl, but give me a break! I can now quote this whole movie word for word.

Went to the dr yesterday to get my iron, thyroid and whatever other kind of tests they are going to run with my 5 vials of blood, checked. It seems strange to me that they have to use a different vial for each test. I would think that someone would’ve invented a way to test for all the stuff using one tube. But this is also coming from someone who would rather give birth than get stuck with a needle. I’m such a baby about all that stuff! I am always anemic. I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that I don’t eat meat. Or eggs. Or spinach. Or squash. Or mushrooms. Or zucchini. Or beets. Or eggplant. I do however love asparagus and I have been making it a new way and it’s awesome.

Roasted Asparagus: Wash and cut about 1/2 inch off the bottom of a bunch of asparagus. Lay them on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle some kosher salt, pepper and shredded parmesan on them. Bake for about 7 minutes on 350. You might want them to be a little softer than we like them, so really just cook them until you think they are done enough for you. I like my veggies just lightly cooked.

I promise you will thank me for this.

So anyway, I am waiting to hear just how anemic I really am, and I’m slightly concerned about my ability to remember to take an iron pill. The dr made John promise to make me take them. We will see how long this lasts! Ha!

We joined the gym here in town last week. I am needing to get at least 40lbs off before we go on our cruise and I want to do it the “healthy” way. Ugh. I am such a sucker for any new fad diet that I know won’t work but I will swear it will. John just rolls his eyes at me! I decided to test how out of shape I am and I ran for as long as I could without collapsing into a biggest loser crying heap on the treadmill. Y’all. I ran for 15 minutes! And then I did the arc trainer for another 20. Super proud of myself! Take that Jillian Michaels!! I am also doing a challenge that if it all works out as planned..I’m totally gonna tell you about. (sidenote: running totally made me feel like a barbie doll who was forced against her will to do the splits. The inside of my thighs is killing me!)

This picture cracks me up! John’s mom has a wig that the kids love playing with and John Bridge came out with it on the other day. I swear he looked just like a toddler Joe Dirt!! I kept telling him “don’t church it up son” and he would just look at me like I had lost my mind! We seriously laughed about this for a long time. I kinda wished I had used it for his halloweed costume. Imagine opening your door to him in jeans and a cut off shirt with this stupid wig on!!  

Still watching Tangled. We are at the part where the king and queen are releasing the lanterns and “bapunzel” is sitting in a boat on the lake watching them in the sky. Mandy Moore makes this movie tolerable. She has a fantastic voice. I used to want to be her. Then she made that horrible sad movie A Walk To Remember (one of the stipulations to John marrying me was that I had to promise that I would never make him watch that movie. Apparently he watched it thinking it was going to be a happy-go-lucky movie and was caught off guard. That’s living proof that you should always read the book and never trust a girlfriend!) and then kinda dropped off the face of the earth. Glad she made a comeback.

Obviously, I have a lot of random things floating around in my brain at 5:45am.

One of my favorite blog chicks, Kelly’s Korner, is in Ecuador right now with Compassion International and I have really enjoyed reading about and praying for their trip. Getting to love on kids and show them Jesus is such a neat thing! John and I have talked about sponsoring a child when our kids are old enough to understand all the ends and outs of it. I feel that God has given us so much and what better way for my kids to learn about being His hands and feet than sponsoring a child. It’s something that we are still praying about. Right now our #1 priority is becoming debt free and then we will have the liberty of doing some of those things. Please go take a look at her blog and read all about the trip. Amazing things they are doing over there!

I feel like I have sufficiently rambled enough for the morning. I am off to start a load of laundry and figure out what to do on a cold day with 4 kids under 3.

 

