Tags

, , , , , , , ,

These past few weeks have been crazier than usual around here. I have really missed being able to sit in the quiet and put my jumbled thoughts into words.

We (our church) hosted a Discipleship Conference this past weekend and it was absolutely the best conference I’ve ever been to! John has worked tirelessly for months planning and executing, and it came off beautifully. I am so proud of him! I’m fairly confident that I spent the whole weekend sobbing in my pew. I am so very grateful that God called us to stay in Bristow and am humbled that I get to be a part of what He is doing in our community! Amazing things are going on here y’all!

I feel like the summer has really flown by this year. Maybe it’s because I’m old or maybe because we have just been so busy, but either way I can’t believe school is starting on Thursday!
Highlights from the past couple weeks :

Brooks learned how to tie his shoe! This is huge for me because it means he’s the official shoe tier of the family. (there is a reason my kids are barefoot or only wear flip flops)

20120813-091058.jpg

John worked with him for about 5 minutes and he was so proud when it finally clicked! Another part of growing you that I can’t stop from happening. Sigh.

Wake has thoroughly enjoyed my relaxed approach to breakfast this summer. I may or may not be the mom that sends them outside with a gallon of blue bell and a spoon! He is also still very much into dressing up and it’s always fun to see what he comes up with to wear. This particular day he was wearing one of my rain boots and one of my high heels. (Jessica Simpson sure knows how to make a cute shoe) Bless him!

20120813-091606.jpg

Finley is big time into wearing lipstick and fixing her own hair. I am big time into letting her and smiling at the faces of the people we run into at Walmart. I’m learning to pick my battles with her!

20120813-091928.jpg

John Bridge has really come into his own this summer and is so stinking funny. He’s 2 going on 17! If we can make it to graduation without having DHS called on us, it will be a Christmas miracle.

20120813-092318.jpg

Loch is still very much a mommas boy and I’m completely ok with that. He is a huge child and wants to be held all the time, so I figure that holding him counts as my arm workout so I skip that part of my Insanity videos! He has overcome his fear of the water and bath time is actually fun now. He things he’s as big as the other ones and should be able to do everything they do.
He hasn’t had a haircut all summer, so I’ve started calling him Lloyd (from dumb and dumber). He smiles all the time and is probably the sweetest little
boy I know. (unbiased opinion of course)

20120813-092732.jpg

I am hoping to get back into some sort of writing schedule this week. School starts Thursday and life should get back to normal then. Hopefully!

Oh, and for my dear friend Mich Dershem…Finley has been going around the house singing the Davy Crockett theme song and instead of “king of the wild frontier”, she sings “Davy, Davy Crockett, king of the white mans tears”.
You’re welcome.

