Tags

, , , , , ,

September 11th, 2001.

I threw back the covers and ran for the bathroom.
I knew I was late for work and that my dad was not going to be amused.
I was brushing my teeth when I heard a news bulletin over the radio. (American Family Radio to be exact.)

I didn’t give it much thought, because like any other 16 year old, I was too busy worrying about what to wear than what was going on in the real world.

I made it to work and found all the office huddled around a little tiny tv. My dad was crying and staring at the screen. (if you know my dad you know that crying doesn’t mean squat with him. He cries over Bambi, a good cigar, opera music and weddings of people he doesn’t know. I obviously get this gift from him)
I stood behind everyone else and tried to take in what was happening.

My selfish, teenage mind couldn’t register the severity of the situation until I heard my dad tell someone over the phone “don’t you see we are under attack?! People are bombing us and I could care less about the increase in your policy premium! Get off the phone and pray!”
It was very unlike my dad to be rude to a customer so the situation took on a deeper level of intense for me.

Who are these people and what are they doing?!

I watched in horror with my coworkers as the tower fell.
I cried in sympathy when I saw dazed men and women walking the streets to safety.
I covered my mouth in disbelief when we watched the 2nd plane hit.
And for the first time it really hit me.

we are under attack

Fast forward 11 years.

I am 27 years old and sitting in a hotel room.
My husband is getting ready for the day and my kids are safely in the care of their grandparents.
The place where our convention is being held is standing and as of right now, terrorist free.

yet, we are still under attack

The nation that I love, is being attacked.

By us.

We spend more time attacking each other about who is voting for who, than praying for God’s direction for our nation.
We are more heartbroken when a NFL football player fights dogs than we are when a doctor murders a baby.
We repost bible verses on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest, but we fail to support the men of God who are sacrificing their families to bring the Gospel to a lost and dying world.

we are under attack

Today, on the 11th anniversary of a horrific tragedy that drew us all together and closer to the Cross, let’s pray for each other.
Pray for our men in leadership, from the President down to your husband.
Pray for our men and women who are still fighting so we can have the freedom and liberty to have an opinion.
Pray for each other.
Pray for the families who wake up every day and remember the ones they lost.
Pray for your Pastor and his family.
Pray for the girl who is sitting all alone in a doctors office, not ready to make the hardest decision of her life.
Pray for the men of God to stand up and be the change our churches need.
Pray for your kids teachers.
Pray for healing.
Pray that God would be merciful to us.

“…
and if My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land…” 2 Chronicles 7:14

