Tags

, , , ,

About a week or so ago, I asked the Facebook world a question. And I was shocked with the response.

“How can I pray for you today?”

Out of all the statuses I’ve had, this one ranked in the top 10 least liked.

For reals?!

Ok. I’ll admit that I have a hard time when people ask that question because I know the odds of them actually remembering to pray for me are slim, if not non existent. I know this because I do it. It’s so easy to say “sure! I’ll pray for you!”. Or “you got it girl!” when they text/email/call and ask for prayer.

BUT, stopping at the moment they ask and actually praying aloud for them? Whew. That is completely out of my comfort zone.

Like majorly.

So, I challenged myself with the FB status. As soon as someone sent me a prayer request, I dropped what I was doing and went to the Father on their behalf. And ya wanna know something?
It changed my attitude! I was a much more pleasant person that day. It was probably the first time I had made a conscious effort to spend most of the day in prayer!
I’m 27 years old and have been a Christian since I was 14. I really didn’t start walking out my faith until about 5 years ago. And even then I’ve been awful about setting aside time to really dig into God’s word and pray. I blame my “busy” life and insane amount of children, but I know the blame really sits on me.
God graciously allows me the opportunity to stay at home with my kids. It’s a lot of work and I like to think my job is way harder than John’s (which is a whole different post). I am constantly cleaning up something, doing laundry, cooking or doing dishes. But…there are plenty of times I sit on my booty and watch Netflix, play SongPop, stalk FB and Instagram. These times are what consume my life! I can’t wait to read the latest drama someone has created for themselves or try to beat their stinking high score. I’m on the last season of Lost and I’m dying to know if they actually make it off the island.

But do I long for intimate moments with my Savior like I long for these?
Do I crave time alone with Him like I crave time sleeping?

No. I don’t.

And that breaks my heart.

A sweet friend posed a great question yesterday. “What consumes you? What are you known for?”

Right now, I’m known as John’s wife, a mom and a funny story teller.
I want to be known as the friend you can ask to pray for you and know she really will, the wife who prays earnestly for her husband, the mom who bathes her kids in prayer every single day and the woman who just emits the love of Christ every where she goes.

That’s what I want to be known for. What I want to make my life about. The legacy I want to leave for my kids.

Facebook statuses come and go. (And for some of us, that’s multiple times a day!)
Instagram pictures are filtered and fixed.
The rest of the world knows the outcome of Jack, Kate, Sawyer and Hurley, the fictional characters I’ve gotten sucked into.

Only God knows me. Truly knows me. He doesn’t need 20 different filter options to make my heart prettier. He doesn’t want me to be wishy washy about my relationship with him.
He just wants me.
All of me.
All of my time and attention.

I’m purposing to start today and this week in an attitude of prayer and gratitude.
If you have anything you would like me to pray with you about or pray specifically for, please ask!
You can email me : jestidwell@me.com
You can FB message me.
You can Tweet me.
Or you can leave it in the comments here.
Tomorrow I am going to post some specific prayer requests and if you would like to add to that list, let me know.

There is nothing like knowing people are really and truly praying for you!

