Tags

, , , , ,

Words, once said or written, can never be returned.

I can remember growing up and hearing
sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me and now realizing how wrong that statement is.

Words are powerful.
I love you
will you marry me?
it’s a boy!
you are beautiful
good job!

Words are life altering.
ma’am. I’m sorry to inform you that there’s been an accident
I’m so sorry, but we can’t find the heartbeat
I love you, but I’m not IN love with you. I want a divorce

The Bible says that “out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks. (Luke 6:45)”

I don’t know about you but more often that not, my overflow isn’t sweet.
It isn’t kind.
It isn’t full of praise and thanks.

I like to blame it on the fact that I’m a cynical person.
That I like to speak my mind and I want people to know right where they stand with me.

“and God..please help mom be nice tomorrow and use her nice voice”
Hearing that come out of my babies mouth is more convicting than any judge or jury.

They are watching me. Listening to me. Not just my words but my tone.
Every sigh. Every huff. Every “y’all are getting on my last nerve!”.

Help me, Lord!
Help me to be healing with my words. Help me be edifying. Help me show kindness to the people closest to me.

Words do hurt.
They haunt.
They convict.

I grew up around a movement of people who believed that what you wore was more important that who you were. That every effort must be spent in making sure your outside was perfect and neglecting your inside. Your heart. The source of all life.
My heart became hard because of what was and wasn’t spoken into it.
My worth as a person isn’t found in what I wear.
How I fix my hair.
If I go to college.
If I get married and have kids.

My worth as a person is found in Christ and Him alone.
I needed to hear this growing up.
I needed to cling to this truth.
I needed someone to speak it into my life.
Someone to break the cycle of lies.

I want my actions and words to lead my children to the Throne of Grace and not to the throne of lies and performance based love.

“let the words of my mouth and the mediation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight Oh Lord, my Strength and my Redeemer! (Psalm 19:14)

My challenge for myself today, this last day of November, is to let my words speak life.
My actions show love.
My life point others to Jesus.

And my voice be nice to my babies.

