Be who you are. When we attempt to be someone else, we allow fear to control our lives.

It’s safe to assume we all have that Facebook friend. You know the one.

She talks about the awesome grades her kids are getting, the awards they received non stop during the school year, the insane amount of Bible verses they memorized, the healthy meals she prepares 3 times a day, the countless hours she spends doing laundry, the time she finds to spend quality time with her husband AND workout 8 hours a day to look like a supermodel.

The pictures she posts are of totes presh clothing that you know cost an arm and a leg and there is no way in the world you could ever afford them. The vacation updates and new car pictures are enough to push you over the edge.

Every single thing is going right for her.

…but it isn’t…

Social media has created a generation of perfect people. People who don’t have to talk about or share their struggles. Who don’t have to put a “it’s been 3 days since I’ve had a decent shower because the baby won’t quit screaming” picture online because it would make us look like we don’t have it together.

We can control how we are perceived. (Or at least we think we can.)

But behind the perfect mom/wife/housecleaner/cook/model mask? There is a scared woman who just wants to be loved and accepted. Made to feel like she is worth something.

That her life matters.

I have found myself jealous of that friend when everything seems to be going right for her and my life is just messy. So, in an effort to be “the norm”, I run to Instagram, capture my good side and throw a filter on it. Then I screen shot the picture, run a second filter on it and blur out the background so you can’t see the piles of laundry on the floor. Then I come up with something clever to use as a caption, or if I’m feeling especially good about it, I’ll find song lyrics. Lyrics just confusing enough to make people wonder what’s going on with my life. Then, I’ll upload it to Facebook where I sit and wait for every new “like” or comment. Because knowing that I might be considered “that friend” even for a second, gives me a superficial sense of worth.

And then, if I’m feeling like I haven’t posted enough cutsie things about my kids, I will take a shower while kids are hanging off the curtain begging for a popsicle, watch a Youtube tutorial on how to achieve the perfect smokey eye, dress the kids in over the top matching outfits, load everyone up in the car, threaten them with in an inch of their life that if they even think about getting dirty I will never let them out of the house again, drive to the park and snap some pictures (with filters of course) of them having fun on the playground.

Y’all.

When I find myself wanting to be that friend, I realize that I am allowing fear to consume me. Fear of what people will think. Fear of how I will be interpreted. Fear of letting my husband down. Fear of failing my kids. Fear of not being good enough.

“Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have ; for He Himself has said, “I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU.” Hebrews 13:5

Being content with what I have. Learning that in everything, I am growing more and more into the woman He created me to be. There is nothing I can do that will make Him love me any less. I don’t have to have the best profile picture or the perfectly worded status update. I don’t have to be seen as the most hands on mom or the over the top loving wife. I don’t have to been seen as anything.

cause when they look at me, I want them to see Him

 

