Tags

, , , ,

This boy.
Well, this man really.

IMG_8430.PNG

My son from another mother. The one who my kids call their big brother. The one who fit seamlessly into my family from the very first moment. The one who would drive like a crazy person in the middle of the night to get to my house and watch kids so John and I could go minister. The one who makes sweet tea so sweet you will immediately get diabetes. The one who worships with everything in him. The one who promised Finley he would show up in pajamas to her classroom senior year and embarrass the heck out of her. The one who I have had the privilege of watching grow up the last few years. The one who hates my hashtags.

IMG_8433.PNG

This man lost his daddy this past weekend. As I stood in the hospital waiting for the ambulance to arrive, I couldn’t help but think of John saying in times past “one of the final stages of becoming a man is when you lose your dad.” I don’t know what it’s like to be a man, but I do know that from Gypsy to Bristow hospital, something changed in my boy. He got out of the car a man. He was bearing the pain of knowing his dad was gone with such grace. He was ministering to his family in ways that they don’t even know.
I watched John embrace our boy and figuratively hold his arms up. {exodus 17:11-12}

IMG_8439.PNG

Jeffrey Eugene {which isn’t his middle name but my love language is making up middle names for people} is a walking example of a man who God got ahold of and radically changed. He is the direct result of his buddy Caleb pouring truth into him.

discipleship at its core

Jeff has walked in some dark places on his journey. Places he’s told us about and some that he chooses to not dwell on.
But, this week is going to be a place unlike all the rest. This week, he is going to be salt and light to his own family. Family that needs to see Jesus lived out just as much as the rest of us.

IMG_8438.PNG

My boy, in his own stages of grief, is allowing God to work in and through him to minister peace and truth to his family…and there is no place he would rather be.

*if you know and love Jeff and his family, the funeral will be here in Bristow on Wednesday, August 27th at 1:00pm. Trinity Baptist Church.

