Tags

, , , , ,

Music has the ability to pierce even the darkest of darks.
Music heals.
Music speaks when words cannot.

Music has always been an important part of my life. Piano lessons weren’t an option. Voice lessons weren’t an option. Violin was an option, but one I enjoyed thoroughly.

I have spent more years than I care to admit going to contests and recitals. Hours upon hours of practice just to master 2 songs. Tears when the performance wasn’t exactly perfect.
Tears when it was.

I left the music department of the university I was attending when I got married. I was burned out. I needed a break. It had consumed so much of my life for so long that I didn’t really know who I was outside of the performance.

After years of music laying dormant in my life, there was a need for me to bring it back.
I started playing the piano again.
I started teaching lessons.
I picked up the violin after years of silence.
My voice, classically trained, learned a new style of singing.

God birthed music in my heart in an entirely different way than He ever had before.

And in true God fashion, He took me 7,000 miles away from home just to show me His plan all along.

IMG_2821-0

John and I walked up the hill this morning to the college. We spent 3 hours tuning violins and dusting off keyboards. The windows were open and a cool breeze filtered through every once in a while.
He whistled.
I smiled.
We worked.

IMG_2822-1

I picked up one of the violins, tapped him on the shoulder with the bow and he said “what key?”.
Minutes later, a melody that has held a special place in my heart this year vibrated off the walls. He started singing. We kept playing.
“Think you can sing harmony while you play the melody?”
“I’ll try”.
We laughed. We sang. He had his back to me and couldn’t see the tears that made their way down my cheeks.

In that moment, He showed me why He had me in lessons for so many years.
Why I begged to quit time and time again and my parents wouldn’t let me.
Why I married a man who has more musical talent in his little finger than most people have in their whole body.
Why we can give each other a look and know where the other is going musically.

Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus. Just to take Him at His word. Just to rest upon His promise and to know thus saith the Lord. Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him. How I’ve proved Him oer and oer. Jesus, Jesus precious Jesus. Oh, for grace to trust Him more.

I know God gave me that song this year because He knew it would be the song on my heart when I was standing in a dusty room clear across the world.
He knew I needed to be reminded to rest on what He promises us in His word. That He will never leave me. That He is near to the broken hearted. That His ways are not my ways. That His light directs my paths.

We finished cleaning and tuning.
We turned off lights and shut the doors.
And we walked hand in hand down the dirt road back to campus.

