Tags

, ,

Staff Bible study started at 8am. We followed a couple school boys up the path on the way there. Their little backpacks swinging and their uniforms crisp.

We sat down and watched as everyone started filing in.
Laughter.
Handshakes.
Smiles.

IMG_2833-0
{the ceiling in the bible study room}

We started singing Blessed Assurance in Swahili. We were told that musical people can pick up Swahili easier than most, but if my singing was any indication, I’m the exception to that rule.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.

I’m fairly certain that Fanny J Crosby didn’t anticipate two Americans standing in a room full of Kenyans singing her song in Swahili, but her God given words rang true for me yesterday.

This blog is my story.
And it’s my song.
At the end of the day, I hope that this journey I am on is one that brings Praise and Honor to Jesus Christ. That the places He’s allowed us to go and the stories I get to share only point people to Him.

Weru led the study. 2 Corinthians 12:7-10.

Because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, for this reason, to keep me from exalting myself, there was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me—to keep me from exalting myself! Concerning this I implored the Lord three times that it might leave me. And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

As soon as he started reading, the tears started flowing. Oh, how I needed this exact passage at that exact moment!

This week has been hard. I have been under so much spiritual attack that at times, I’ve let it “get in me” as our new friend Moses says.
But God is allowing this for a reason.
He has given me more than I can bear so that I will crowd closer towards Him.
His strength alone is what is keeping me from laying in the fetal position on my bed and giving up.

I can honestly say that I am grateful for the attack I’m under.
I’m grateful for the constant check in my heart to only show Him.
I’m thankful that I have a husband who walks beside me and encourages me.
I am made strong today because of my weakness.

Bwana Asifiwe!

